MBBS seats enhanced from 200 to 250 2010-11
MD Radiotherapy Started- 2 seats 2011-12
DM Pulm Medicine started- 1 seat 2011-12
Equipment worth Rs 7 Crore in 2011-12 2011-12
MD Emergency Medicine started-2 seats 2012-13
MD Family Medicine started- 2 seats 2012-13
MD Radiodiagnosis-Seat Enhancement from 2 to 5 2012-13
PG Fund 27.82 Crore awarded in 2012 March 2012
PMSSY-150 crore under process- cabinet approval 2012-13
Linear Accelerator- 12.5 crore- Installed 2011-12
New boys hostel opened
Girls Hostel Worth Rs 8.8 Crore-Under tender process 29/06/2012
MCI approved centre for Medical Education Technology 2010-11
Renovation of MCH-Ground Floor under asset maintananance 2011-12
Renovation of Examination Hall with CCTV camera 2011-12
Setting up of Conference Hall in ICD 2011-12
75 new staff Nurses post created 2011-12
10.5 Crore worth equipment in 2012-13 2012-13
Diploma in Resp Tech, BSc CVT, BSC PT started 2012-13
Aurora Auditorium under financial support of students & Staff( 50 L) 2012-13
New OP counter at MCH- MP LAD 2012-13
New Floor for SDSMCB- Haemato oncology MP LAD 2012-13
Books worth 25 Lakhs purchased 2012-13
New CT Scan purchased 2012-13
Second Unit of cardiac Cath lab under process 2013-14
New Guest House constructed- 6 rooms 2013-14
Liquid Oxygen installed 2013-14
Advanced Respiratory Research Lab- 1 Crore- completed at ICD 2013-14
New academic block completed 2013-14
Lecture Theatre Complex work started- 10 cr 2013-14
Residents Quarters (Flat type) for 12.44 crore- work started 2013-14
Renovation of MCH-First & Second Floor-5 crore-completed 2013-14
Replacement of Old Lifts-1.5 crore completed 2013-14
Networking & Computerization-1 Crore final stage 2013-14
Renovation of Staff & Students canteen-75 L- completed 2013-14
Renovation of  Ward 31 & Supdts Office-50 L-completed 2013-14
Burns Unit AS- 1.08 Crore- completed 2013-14
Multidisciplinary Research Lab- 1.25 Crore-First phase completed 2013-14
Multidisciplinary Research Lab- 2.54 Crore-Second phase sanctioned
New MRI,LCC & Lab under HLL in SSB-Completed 2013-14
Office for Institutional Ethics committee opened 2013-14
Air conditioned Auditorium in IMCH 2013-14
Gastroenterology Block and Repair of Roads- 7 Cr-completed 2013-14
Tertiary Cancer Care centre at Medical College- Central scheme for 45.5 Crore- Work started 2014-15
Infertility clinic( Reproductive Medicine Unit)-Completed 2014
New Campus for IMHANS at Medical College 2013-14
Geriatric ward- AS obtained 2014-15
Department of Neonatology, Emergency Medicine and Family Medicine Created 2014-15
New LRC with 60 terminals opened 2014-15
Basic Skill Lab & Simulation lab started 2014-15
Biometric Attendance system introduced for Medical College Staff 2014-15
Synthetic track and Football turf constructed in the college ground 2014-15




Dr. Roshni. M, Dept. Of Family Medicine, Family Medicine specialist from Kerala, receiving AFPI Appreciation

Award for services towards the specialty,  from Hon’ Union Minister for Health & Family Welfare,

Shri J.P. Nadda at New Delhi on 22nd November 2015.



Indian Journal of Anesthesia and Analgesia

Vol-1 Number-1  January – June 2014

Published by Red Flower Publication Pvt. Ltd.

  123    k k mubarak     12345

                                               Editor – in – Chief:  K.K.Mubarak
                                                             Professor & Head 
                                              Govt. Medical College, Kozhikode                        
                          Click to View Journal  –  IJAA VOL.1 NO.1 JAN – JUN 2014


Medicos win National ENT undergraduate quiz

Students of Govt Medical College, Kozhikode won the first and third prizes of the National ENT Undergraduate Quiz competition conducted by Dept of ENT, K.S.Hedge Medical Academy, Mangalore on 26th August 2012. More than 40 teams from 5 southern states participated in this national quiz competition.

S.Jayakumar and Sonu Susan Abraham of 52nd batch won the first prize while Roy J Palatty and A K Adarsh of the same batch won the third prize. The winners were given a trophy, cash prize and certificates. S.Jayakumar had also won the Prof Ramachandran memorial All Kerala Pathology gold medal in 2011.



            SONU  &  JAYAKUMAR                                                            ROY  &  ADARSH



E zone champions

Calicut Medical College became the champions in the E zone intercollegiate sports meet 2012 of Kerala University of Health Sciences (KUHS) held at Govt Medical College, Calicut. 40 colleges from 3 districts competed in the event. The meet was inaugurated by Mr. Diju, Badminton player representing India in the London Olympics 2012. The closing ceremony was honoured by Miss Aparna Balan – Indian badminton player.

Calicut Medical College came out as champions in Badminton and table tennis and runner up in volleyball, football and chess. The interzone sports meet will be held at Pariyaram Medical College.

                         Badminton team                                                                   Volleyball team



All Kerala Conference of Obstetric & Gynaecology, Kannur 2013

List of Winners

No Name of Award Winner Award Name Prize / Medal
1 Dr Geovin Ranji GSenior Resident Young Talent Search First Prize
2 Dr Geovin Ranji GSenior Resident Dr. R.K.K Thamban Memorial Gold Medal For Best Paper Gold medal
3 Dr Santhosh KuriakoseAsst ProfessorOncology Division Chithrathara Endowment  Prize On Gynaecologic Oncology First Prize
4 Dr. Smitha D S Best Poster Presentation First Prize
5 Dr Mini C HAdditional Professor KFOG President Gold Medal – Paper Presentation Gold medal
6 Dr Madhuja Dr. Kalyanikutty Memorial – Free Paper For Post Graduate Students Second Prize
7 Dr Sanam.P  &Dr Smitha D S Mukherjee Memorial Quiz For Post Graduate Students Second Prize
8 Dr Ashok Best Paper Presentation Second Prize
9 Dr Mini C H Chithrathara Endowment Prize On Gynaecologic Oncology Third Prize


First Prize Winners in the National Level Quiz for Undergraduates 2013

Students of Govt Medical College, Kozhikode won the first prize of  National Level (26th Indian Academy of Paediatrics) Quiz competition for Undergraduates 2013 Held at Indore, Madhya Pradesh on Jan 12th 2014.

1) Minimol Antony

2) Adarsh A K